News

Wed, 10/02/2019

I visited Lehigh University, gave a talk on our new transfer learning results, and had a lot of interesting discussions

Sun, 09/01/2019

We won a MURI award from ONR to study network latency. This is a team led by Virginia Tech. 

Tue, 07/16/2019

I had a keynote at the workshop on learning theory at TBSI, Shenzhen, China. Showed some of our new results in transfer learning. 

Wed, 06/05/2019

I attended Canadian Workshop on Information Theory (CWIT), at McMaster University, to give a plenary talk. The event is very well organized. I wish we have a small and well connected organization like this in the US, or just on the east coast. 

Wed, 05/22/2019

After a long time, I finally wrote a wikipage on Bayesian Information Criterion (BIC), using our favoriate local geometric approach, which hopefully answers some questions that have bothered us. 

Thu, 02/21/2019

I delivered a Keynote at IEEE ICNC 2019, in Hawaii. 

Sat, 02/16/2019

I just read this paper on Tensor SVD, which I liked very much. 

Wed, 10/31/2018

I attended the BIRS workshop on Intersection between Information theory and Signal Processing, and delivered a keynote talk titled "Universal Features in Inference and Learning".  Thanks to the wonderful facilities in Banff, there is actually a...

Thu, 08/30/2018

I read this paper about B-spline and a simple way to adjust the smoothness of the resulting function. It is really neat. I wrote some little programs to try this out and it works...

Sat, 07/28/2018

I visited several institutes in China, and had a talk titled "Connecting Data with Domain Knowledge". The slides can be found here